Upcoming Events

Eagle County Democrats Meetings & Events

What: Team El Jebel-Basalt Community Meeting and BBQ
When: Wednesday, August 16, 5:30 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.
Where: Crown Mountain Park Pavilion
Address: 501 Eagle Court Drive, El Jebel
Join the Eagle Dems for a community meeting in the Roaring Fork Valley! This month, we’re having a BBQ picnic at Crown Mountain Park. Come for an update and chat with your County Commissioners including Jeanne McQueeney and celebrate a summer evening with friends.
**Please bring a side dish or dessert to share!**
Other Events

What: Executive Committee Meeting
When: Tuesday, Sept. 5, 5:30 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.
Where: Location TBD

September 9, Candidate Round-Up and Fundraising Dinner
See who our speakers are and buy your tickets here!

Other Events

What: House Party with Jared Polis, Candidate for Governor!
When: Saturday, August 19, 4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Where: Katherine and Corey Schmidt’s home
Address: 90 W. Double Hitch, Eagle Ranch, Eagle
For more info and to RSVP, email Ana Cristina Temu at: ana@polisforcolorado.com

What: Fundraiser for Diane Mitsch Bush, Candidate for Congress!
When: Sunday, August 20, 4:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Where: Jane Lowery’s home
Address: 525 Lariat Loop, Edwards
For more info and to RSVP, email Jill Ryan at: jill@jillhryan.com

What: Listening Tour with Colorado Democratic Party Chair Morgan Carroll
When: Saturday, August 26, 12:30 p.m. – 2:30 p.m.
Where: Eagle County Paramedics Classroom
Address: 1055 Edwards Village Blvd., Edwards
The State Party is bringing their Statewide Listening Tour & Training to Edwards. Democrats from Clear Creek, Gilpin, Summit, Eagle and Lake Counties will be gathering for trainings in various areas including citizen lobbying, messaging, candidate and campaign staff training plus Q&A. 

Hey everyone,
This is a big thank you to all of you for what you did to keep Eagle County blue.

We gave Hillary over 56% of our vote, winner Michael Bennet over 55%, winner Jared Polis 63% in CD2 and Gail Schwartz nearly 54% in CD3. Nick Phalen and Lander Karath were tireless organizers for the Colorado Coordinated Campaign. They did much of the heavy lifting. Thank you, guys!

Alice Madden lost the CU Regent at-large statewide race but still received 54% of Eagle County’s support. We’re disappointed she didn’t win; she was very qualified.

We sure wish Gail could have pulled out a win. CD3 is a brutally tough Congressional District for a Democratic win. Gail gave it a good run.

Locally, Diane thumped Mike Cacioppo getting over 60% of the votes. That is a highly satisfying win! Diane’s campaign manager Kira Mazzola gets a big chunk of credit for delivering to Diane her largest winning margin ever.

Bruce Brown didn’t win Eagle County, but he won his race overall by nearly 1,000 votes to continue as D.A. for Judicial District 5. His Republican opponent earned a mere 217 more votes here, but the other three counties in Bruce’s district (Clear Creek, Lake and Summit) went strongly enough for Bruce to overcome that deficit.

We can all celebrate Jill Ryan and Kathy Chandler-Henry prevailing! Congratulations to our two wonderful County Commissioners on their reelection. They deserve these big wins and we are fortunate to be able to send them back to work for us.

Last, but never least, Teak trounced her opponent by getting nearly 62% of the vote. We can’t wait to see how she transforms the Treasurer’s office the way she did the Clerk’s office.

The Eagle County Democratic Party Executive Committee supported all the local ballot measures. Sadly, 1A and 1B didn’t pass; that’s a blow for open space, trails and affordable housing. But the Eagle County School District’s 3A and 3B proposals for better funding of education won. Hooray for the teachers and the students who will benefit!

Check out the Denver Post or the Secretary of State’s website for the rest of the statewide results.

We have no idea what the consequences of Hillary Clinton’s loss will mean. It feels like a very hard punch in the gut.

Take solace in what we did here in Eagle County and in Colorado. Get some rest and we’ll all be debriefing down the road.

Many, many thanks and great appreciation and admiration to all of you,

Jane and Joy
and the rest of the Executive Committee – Carole, Emily, Cookie, Jeanne and Pat

2016 Eagle County Platform Resolutions

Click here to download a copy of the platform resolutions adopted at our recent County Assembly on March 19and submitted to the State Platform Committee.

The resolutions were originally submitted to our County Assembly from the individual caucus precincts. A ballot distributed at Assembly was tabulated by Beth Reilly and Bob Rutledge and the results were summarized in a document that has been submitted tot he Colorado State Platform Committee. The stat Platform committee will consider incorporating our resolutions into the State Platform. For more information, please contact Beth Reilly, our Platform Chairperson, by email